Consumerism attacks

Pretty bottles with magical potions
Why are we in a world that needs
More clear skin than clear conscience

Same time on every dial
Then why one watch doesn’t feel enough
A fancier one keeps calling from the aisle

Dark is the secret, darker my kohl
Sweet perfumes make me forget
To consumerism I’ve sold my soul

Sales, offers, discounts and cashbacks
When I resist they say ‘buy 1 get 1 free’
First my money and then a piece of me
Was gone and lost in an endless shopping spree

I bought and bought things that I don’t need
One step content, two steps emptier,
I stand here wearing clothes crisp
That are new but don’t feel clean.
Lily,himym,shopping

Leave a Reply

